Kitchener needs updated zoning bylaws to keep up with the diverse needs of our growing community. Our comprehensive review of the zoning bylaw (CRoZBy) ensures that land and buildings are used in ways that complement and support growth.

On this page:

  1. About the review
  2. Stage 1 – non-residential zones
  3. Stage 2 – residential zones
  4. Previous drafts

About the review

The zoning bylaw states exactly how land can be used and where buildings or other structures can be located.

The current bylaw is over 30 years old and needs to be updated to match our Official Plan.

The new zoning bylaw is being prepared in stages. Stage 1 was approved in April 2019 following five years of work and consultation. Stage 2 is now underway.


Stage 1 – non-residential zones

Zoning Bylaw 2019-051 (Stage 1)

On April 29, 2019 council passed Stage 1 of the new zoning bylaw for Kitchener. Learn more on our zoning bylaw page.

Zoning By-law 2019-051 received 3 appeals. On December 4, 2020, the Local Planning Appeal Tribunal (LPAT) rendered an oral decision to scope the remaining appeal to be site-specific in nature, with the remainder of Zoning By-law 2019-051 coming into effect. The effective date of Zoning By-law 2019-051 is April 29, 2019.

Council deferred consideration of proposed Section 4.3: Bonusing and Section 6: Urban Grown Centre Zones (and all the properties to which it applies) and the application of zoning to several other properties.

It is intended that these deferred items will be added to By-law No. 2019-051 through future zoning by-law amendments.

Zoning bylaw and schedules

Use our interactive maps to find out what your property is zoned.

Staff reports


Stage 2 - residential zones

Kitchener has more than 50,000 residential properties. We divided this stage into two parts:

  • Stage 2a – defining the new zones
  • Stage 2b – applying them to properties

Stage 2a – residential zone definitions

The new residential base zones have been drafted and are defined in the zoning bylaw’s updated Section 7. Stage 2a is scheduled to be brought to city council in late spring 2021.

Detailed information

Stage 2b – applying the new zoning

The new residential zones are being applied to properties across the city on a ward-by-ward basis. Find out if your property has been updated with the new zoning using our address tool or interactive map.

2021 schedule

  • Ward 2: Occurred Feb. 6, 2020 - Map available now
  • Ward 1: spring 2021
  • Wards 6, 7 and 8: spring/summer 2021
  • Wards 3, 4 and 5: summer 2021
  • Wards 9 and 10: summer/fall 2021
  • Stat public meeting: late fall 2021

Previous drafts

April 2019

April 2018

May 2017