We're updating our zoning bylaws to keep up with the diverse needs of our growing community. Our comprehensive review of the zoning bylaw (CRoZBy) ensures that land and buildings are used in ways that align with our Official Plan and complement and support growth.

On this page:

  1. About the review
  2. Stage 1 – non-residential zones
  3. Stage 2 – residential zones

About the review

The zoning bylaw states exactly how land can be used and where buildings or other structures can be located on a property.

The current bylaw is over 30 years old and needs to be updated to reflect our Official Plan.

The new zoning bylaw is being completed in stages. Stage 1 (non-residential zones) was approved in April 2019 following five years of work and consultation. Stage 2 (residential zones) was approved on March 21, 2022.


Stage 1 – non-residential zones

Zoning Bylaw 2019-051 (Stage 1)

Status: approved by council on April 29, 2019.

On April 29, 2019 council passed Stage 1 of the new zoning bylaw for Kitchener. Stage 1 approved the new non-residential zones and applied them to individual properties. These are now in effect. Learn more on our zoning bylaw page.

Staff reports


Stage 2 - residential zones

Kitchener has more than 50,000 residential properties. We divided this stage into two parts:

Stage 2a – residential base zones

Status: approved by council on May 17, 2021

The new residential base zones were approved by city council on May 17, 2021. The residential zones were added to zoning by-law 2019-051 and did not apply to any properties. The application of these new residential zones to specific properties is part of Stage 2b.

Read the staff reports here:

Stage 2b – applying residential zones to properties

Status: approved by council on March 21, 2022; currently under appeal

Stage 2b applies the residential zones to properties and makes minor changes to the regulations of the new by-law 2019-051 to make implementation easier. The new residential zones were applied to properties on a ward-by-ward basis and were approved by council on March 21, 2022.

The by-law (Stage 2b) is currently under appeal. Until the appeal is resolved, permits must meet new and old zoning requirement.

Review the related documents: