Pools

Suburbs

City of Kitchener owns and operates four indoor pools, three outdoor pools, eight splash pads and Kiwanis Park and Pool. We also provide our very own Learn to Swim Program. Whether you're three months old or 30 years old, we have a swimming program for you.  

Come and enjoy a FREE SWIM at your local pool this summer sponsored by Tim Hortons!

Indoor pools

Indoor pools provide various aquatic programs throughout the year including swimming lessons, aquatic fitness classes, summer and March break ca.m.ps and more! By clicking on the location below, you can learn more about what is offered at each pool:

Outdoor pools

Outdoor pools provide public swim times as well as various programs and lessons. All pools are now open for the 2018 season. By clicking on the location below, you can learn more about what is offered at each pool:

Splash pads

Kitchener splash pads are now open for the season with the exception of those noted below:

A spray feature has also been added to the pool in Kiwanis Park 

  • Kiwanis Park pool and spray feature, 1000 Kiwanis Park Dr., 519-745-8133 

Tim Hortons free swims

Come enjoy a FREE swim or aquafit at your neighbourhood pool this summer, sponsored by Tim Hortons.

 

 Breithaupt Centre
 
Aquafit
  • Tuesdays: July 3-Aug. 28: 8:30-9:15 p.m.
Public Swims
  • Monday, July 16: 7:30-8:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 25: 7:30-8:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Aug. 22: 7:30-8:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Aug. 27: 7:30-8:30 p.m.
 Cameron Heights Pool
 
 Aquafit
  •  Sundays: July 8-Aug. 29: 9:15-10 a.m.
 Public Swims
  • Monday, July 23: 6-7:30 p.m.
  • Friday, Aug. 10: 6:30-8 p.m.
  • Sunday, Aug 19: 6:30-8 p.m.
 Forest Heights Pool
 
 Aquafit
  •  Wednesdays: July 4-Aug 22: 8-9 p.m.
 Public Swims
  • Saturday, July 14: 6-7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Aug. 11: 6-7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Sept. 1: 6-7:30 p.m.
 Lyle Hallman Pool
 
 Aquafit
  • Thursdays: July 5-Aug. 23: 8:30-9:15 a.m.
 Public Swims
  • Friday, July 13: 3:30-5 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 14: 3:30-5 p.m.
 Kiwanis Park Pool
 
 Public Swims
  • Tuesday, July 10: 5-8 p.m.
 Harry Class Pool
 
 Public Swims
  • Tuesday, July 31: 6-7:30 p.m.
  • Friday, Aug. 31: 2-4:30 p.m.
 Wilson Pool
 
 Public Swims
  • Wednesday, July 18: 6-7:30 p.m.
  • Monday, July 30: 6-7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Aug. 25: 6-7:30 p.m.
 Idlewood Pool
 
 Public Swims
  • Thursday, July 5: 5-7:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 16: 5-7:30 p.m.

Swim admission guidelines

  • 0-6 years: Must be within 1 arm's reach of someone 12 years or older at all times, including if swim test has been passed (2:1 ratio)
  • 7-9 years: May swim alone if they pass the swim test, if not they must be within 1 arm's reach of someone 12 years or older at all times (3:1 ratio)
  • 10+ years: May swim alone
  • 12+ years: May supervise other swimmers (see ratios above)
  • Deep end swimmers: All swimmers must pass the swim test to enter the deep end. Swimmers of any age may be asked to complete the swim test at the discretion of the lifeguards.

To pass the swim test, swimmers must be able to comfortably perform a recognizable stroke on their front for a minimum of 15 meters with the ability to put their face in the water and take at least one (1) breath without putting their feet on the bottom of the pool.

Children ages 7-9 who successfully complete the test, or have completed Level H, will receive a Swim Test Card. Swim test cards must be presented prior to admission to a recreational swim.

Forgot your Swim Test Card? You will be required to complete another swim test.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contact Us